Moana – In search of the Heart

What better movie than Moana to talk about heart =)

Had wanted to watch this movie sometime ago and only managed to find time for it.

Let’s talk about it.

Searching for a lost heart and restoration of the heart.

What an apt movie to talk about our heart to heart walk with Jesus.

Grandma Tala sung this and it immediately resonated with my heart ❤

Song: Moana Where are You

I like to dance with the water
The undertow and the waves
The water is mischievous
Ha! I like how it misbehaves

The village may think I’m crazy
Or say that I drift too far
But once you know what you like, well
There you are

You are your father’s daughter
Stubbornness and pride
Mind what he says but remember
You may hear a voice inside
And if the voice starts to whisper
To follow the farthest star
Moana, that voice inside is
Who you are

The voice inside starts to whisper. The one that brings forth your inner callings to follow the farthest star.

Luke 11:33 NIV

No one lights a lamp and puts it in a place where it will be hidden, or under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, so that those who come in may see the light.

When you gain an identity in Christ, you don’t put it under a bowl or keep the light hidden. You have to shine. Social anxiety? Fear of attention? They all gotta stand at the corner. You don’t get a say here. A lamp was made to shine light so that those who come may see. If a person like me can be labelled as “sociable”, there’s nothing you cannot be transformed into. Years back when I was still in school, I was labelled “anti-social”, “weird” and grouped with people who were socially marked as “outliers”. Though I wouldn’t say I’m any less than an outlier now, I can say that I am very much a different person from when I first started out as me. Well…let’s get back to the movie line~

“I’m sure there’s more to Hey Hey (chicken ) than meets the eye” What Moana said when the villagers wanted to eat him, that’s just Awww~  =) I love her already

Song: How far I’d go (I wish I can be the perfect daughter…)

I always wish I can be the perfect daughter, one who never fails my father’s expectations. Yet time and again, I surprised my dad with my silent rebellious streak, one that refused to bow down to authorities that failed to earn my respect, destroyed my trust and threatened my freedom. And when I finally outgrew that rebellious streak behind my meek appearance, my sensitivity and empathy over-bloomed to one that worried my dad. I had never been one to conform, had I?

“What is wrong with me?”

When Moana sung that, my heart wrung. It was, and still is, a question I asked myself for countless times, after endless futile attempts of trying to fit in this world.

John 17:14 NIV

I have given them your word and the world has hated them, for they are not of the world any more than I am of the world.

“The ocean chose you” – Tala

When Moana went to pack up to leave, I cried.

“Every turn I take, every trail I track
Is a choice I make, now I can’t turn back
From the great unknown where I go alone
Where I long to be”

LOL when Moana screamed at the ocean ” I said Help me and wrecking my boat – NOT FUNNY”

Sometimes God shipwrecked us to bring us to where we need to go.

“The ocean chose you for a reason” 

“I had no idea what I’m doing. I had no idea why the ocean chose me” 

“someone worthy to be saved” [What Moana told Maui how the ocean found him after his parents abandoned him into the ocean]

Yes, you are worthy. Wherever, whatever, whoever. I don’t know how but my Daddy God loves you. Through and through.

 

Psalms 56:8 NLT

You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book. 

The ocean in the bottle had been a theme in my life recently when I went through several major transitions in my life. A period of time that I nearly drowned in my own tears, literally and figuratively.

The ocean chose you. The tears that you shed will become the reason for your mission to shine His love.

2 Corinthians 1:3-4 NIV

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.

A dear friend shared that this was her favourite verse as it reminded her that how her current sufferings reminded her of God’s comfort and how that brings her to forge forth to bring the same comfort to those in similar plights. Thank you Angelica ❤

“Choose someone else”

“I tried, Grandma. I couldn’t do it”

Grandma Tala said “Why’d you hesitate?”

Moana said ” I don’t know”

Grandma Tala sings: Song “I am Moana”

“Sometimes the world seems against you/ The journey may leave a scar/ But scars can heal and reveal/ Just where you are” 

Many times, we crumble and we fall. We just couldn’t do it anymore. We thought we did our best. We fought our best battles. We tried and tried. We seem like the only one pushing forth when the one with the power and the key just kept giving up (like Maui).

Yes, why did you hesitate after you’ve fought for so long, so hard, so far.

Yes, I don’t know. (I just need to take a deep breath here)

But scars can heal and reveal just where you are.

Sometimes when everyone else left. When you are helpless and alone.

Wounded and scarred.

That’s where it will start to heal and start to reveal what God has called you to do and that God is all you ever need. Your one and only audience.

A destiny that only you alone can fulfill, for you are the one and only you that God created.

Song: Know who you are [What Moana sung to Ta Qa]

“I have crossed the horizon to find you
I know your name
I may have stolen the heart from inside you
But this does not define you
This is not who you are
You know who you are”

The ending part of the movie when Moana tried to restore Ta Qa.

Let’s just end this on the note that every “nasty” or “irritable” person you met is not who they wanted to be. Only hurt people hurt people.

Sometimes it’s not about them, it’s about us and how we perceive people.

I feel that I might have missed out on talking about Maui.

It might have been an intentional miss-out on my subconscious part.

I do have baggages about being left behind and leaving others behind so let’s just leave it as that =)

Hope whoever reads this enjoyed my musings~

What I enjoyed reading:

http://rockingodshouse.com/moana-christian-movie-review/

http://rockingodshouse.com/moana-animator-mark-henn-talks-faith-gratitude-and-why-moana-is-an-amazing-film/

http://religionnews.com/2016/12/12/how-moana-expands-disneys-multicultural-gospel/

Leave a Reply

